Practice tool to learn vocal harmony

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Practice tool to learn vocal harmony

Post by SandyE »

I have two files- one containing a song with the lead vocal without harmony, the other with the harmony without the lead. I'd like to create a single file containing both lead and harmony where the lead will play through my computer speakers (Win 10) and the harmony through my headphones. My goal is to learn to sing harmony. I have the ability to create the two source files in either wav or mp3. I'm a newbie when it comes to recording but I do have Audacity and FL Studio 20, How would I go about mergiing and syncing the tracks and then separating the audio output? Or is there any other simpler solution? Thanks
SandyE
Poster

Re: Practice tool to learn vocal harmony

Post by Drew Stephenson »

Hmmm. I don't think W10 will naturally let you send a different signal to speakers and headphones. Not sure if there's an app that will do it though.
One technique that's reasonably commonly used when trying to listen to two sources is to send one signal to the Left and one to the Right, might this work for you? That would be simple to set up in FL I believe.
Drew Stephenson
Forum Aficionado
Posts: 24583 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am Location: York
(The forumuser formerly known as Blinddrew)
Ignore the post count, I still have no idea what I'm doing...
https://drewstephenson.bandcamp.com/

Post by BJG145 »

First thought on sending different sounds to different devices via a single PC was to use L/R as blinddrew says, but I don't understand how having one half on speakers and one half in headphones is going to help you learn to sing harmony anyway. What's the thinking behind it?
Last edited by BJG145 on Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BJG145
Longtime Poster

Post by SandyE »