Best way to mic percussions???

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Moderator: Moderators

Best way to mic percussions???

Post by gyates329 »

I am a professional drummer/percussionist. I am slowly but surely building a home studio out of necessity. I have quite a few auxiliary percussion instruments but I am having trouble getting a good sound for some of them especially the more authentic. For example, how do I mic my Caxixis? Also how do I mic African Claves? Lastly, how do I mic my Gankogui? Thanks in advance for any special tips and tricks.
gyates329
New here
Posts: 12 Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2021 11:40 am Location: Virginia Beach
George Yates III
Soundcloud | Youtube

Re: Best way to mic percussions???

Post by AlecSp »

In a studio, a lot of the problem is that instruments lack the sense of a lively room - especially percussion instruments like this - they just tend to sound dry and insubstantial.

While a quality mic will do a better job, the mic is likely to be the least of your problems. I'd typically try a small diaphragm condensor, though.

Much more important will be the room acoustic you capture (if not a dry studio) and/or the reverb that you add. If you've been close micing, try micing from quite a bit further away, and experiment with finding more lively locations. As well, or instead, play with the reverb you use - this can transform a dry, lifeless percussion track.
AlecSp
Frequent Poster
Posts: 673 Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:00 am Location: Herts, UK

Post by Drew Stephenson »

This article might be worth a read: https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques ... c-anything
Drew Stephenson
Forum Aficionado
Posts: 24588 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am Location: York
(The forumuser formerly known as Blinddrew)
Ignore the post count, I still have no idea what I'm doing...
https://drewstephenson.bandcamp.com/

Post by Wonks »