Anything cheaper than iZotope's RX?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by TNGator »

Tim Gillett wrote:
TNGator wrote:Hey gang. Im plagued on this song with pops and crackles on various tracks. Not extremely loud but they are there. I tried Audacity and it did nothing. I know iZotope software is really good and i have one or two items of theirs. But even the RX7 elements is like $130. Anyone know of a good software fro removing unwanted pops and such? Thanks y'all.


Really to advise with more certainty we need to hear the "pops and crackles" that you are hearing. There are limits to what's possible without damaging the wanted audio. Any chance of a short sample audio?

Tim


Hi Tim. I'll see if i can put even one track maybe on soundcloud and share the link.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192 Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by TNGator »

ken long wrote:
Tim Gillett wrote:Really to advise with more certainty we need to hear the "pops and crackles" that you are hearing. There are limits to what's possible without damaging the wanted audio. Any chance of a short sample audio?


I agree with Tim. Are these pops and clicks convertor sync issues?

Any spectral editor and some elbow grease will work better than a blanket noise removal plugin.


Hi Ken. What is a spectral editor please? perhaps if i can explain more clearly. Let me go through the tracks and find exactly which ones have the crackles. Some tracks were recorded by mic such as vocals and a fender strat. Some were done by DI such as the bass. Im very careful about gain staging and dont record hot at all. In fact the level is quite low. let me see what exactly what is popping and how it was recorded. In the meantime I'll continue searching for a good software tool for this.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192 Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by Mike Stranks »

This is a quick demo of what you can do with spectral editing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKTcC9bqlS0
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8553 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by TNGator »

Mixedup wrote:
TNGator wrote:It's just this one particular project


Use the iZotope demo? I can't recall what the limitations are, but typically you can render results from these things in one way or another.

Or if it really is just the one project, why not invite someone else to do it for you and avoid spending all that time learning to get the best results from whatever tool you purchase? :headbang:


I dont know anyone Mixed. But thats ok.. I always get great help and feedback on the SOS forum so I'll manage somehow :thumbup:
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192 Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by TNGator »

TNGator wrote:
Tim Gillett wrote:
TNGator wrote:Hey gang. Im plagued on this song with pops and crackles on various tracks. Not extremely loud but they are there. I tried Audacity and it did nothing. I know iZotope software is really good and i have one or two items of theirs. But even the RX7 elements is like $130. Anyone know of a good software fro removing unwanted pops and such? Thanks y'all.


Really to advise with more certainty we need to hear the "pops and crackles" that you are hearing. There are limits to what's possible without damaging the wanted audio. Any chance of a short sample audio?

Tim



Tim / Ken. I might have to run away and quit the SOS forum due to embarrassment and wasting everyone's time.. Your question re what kind of noise am i getting got me to export a track to the demo version of RX. There was no noise to be heard in RX but it was clear in my DAW. I then played a few of the tracks in Windows Media player. No sign of any clicks etc either. When i went into Cakewalks settings I saw that the number of buffers in playback was only 2 and it was grayed out. I went into windows control panel and there is a panel there for my M Audio. When i raised the latency fader and went back into the DAW it seemed to play without the pops and such. It might have been a buffer setting causing this. I'll keep testing but this is starting to look like an embarrassing goof on my part.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192 Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by blinddrew »

We've all been there!
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15905 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by Sam Spoons »

Yup, even the good guys, in my case it's a daily occurrence....... :headbang:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15855 Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am Location: Manchester UK
Your karma has run over my dogma

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by Mike Stranks »

The tales I could tell from the last 50 years! :oops:

Just a few weeks ago I was asked to run a small sound system for a local village fete. Two radio mics and background music. Simples.

Set-up was fine and all power-lights lit up as expected. Tested mics all fine. Music feed from PC - zilch.

USB lead duff? Change lead: nothing. USB socket gone funny? Different socket: nothing. Laptop got its knickers in a twist? Full reboot: nothing.

Then I turned up the channel gain and all was well.... :oops::headbang::oops::headbang:
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8553 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by BillB »

TNGator wrote: I'll keep testing but this is starting to look like an embarrassing goof on my part.


The important thing is that a) you found the problem and b) you shared the solution. That way we all get to learn something, including about cheaper alternatives to RX :D

Plus we get Mike’s priceless tale.

Glad you got it sorted.
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1366 Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by Hugh Robjohns »

Don't think there's any need for embarrassment. We've all been caught out by cunningly hidden settings! But it does sound very likely that the clicks were indeed due to the buffer being too small to sustain glitch-free playback. Glad it was an easy fix!
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 31766 Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound...
(But generally posting my own personal views and not necessarily those of SOS, the company or the magazine!)
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by Kwackman »

BillB wrote:The important thing is that a) you found the problem and b) you shared the solution. That way we all get to learn something.


+1. :thumbup:
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2386 Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotope's RX?

Post by Mixedup »

Cool. Problem solved at source = best possible outcome! :headbang:
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4458 Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 12:00 am Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by ken long »

TNGator wrote:
Hi Ken. What is a spectral editor please? perhaps if i can explain more clearly. Let me go through the tracks and find exactly which ones have the crackles. Some tracks were recorded by mic such as vocals and a fender strat. Some were done by DI such as the bass. Im very careful about gain staging and dont record hot at all. In fact the level is quite low. let me see what exactly what is popping and how it was recorded. In the meantime I'll continue searching for a good software tool for this.


OK - seems as though you're talking about noise in the signal rather than any clicks from syncing your convertor.

Many editors have a spectrum view that will allow you to surgically remove the clicks much like photoshop. Izotope has this but so does Wavelab and SADiE. There's also Sony's Spectral Layers etc. Not sure which is the cheapest or which one would provide you with value for money if it's a one-off repair.
User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3388 Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:00 am Location: Somers Town
I'm All Ears.

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by Mixedup »

ken long wrote:Many editors have a spectrum view that will allow you to surgically remove the clicks much like photoshop.


Yes, there are many spectral editing tools now but they're not all created equal. I believe only CEDAR and iZotope can intelligently fill the gaps left behind by your spectral edits by interpolation, in the same way that Photoshop can when, for example, removing a telegraph pole from a pic. The others just allow you to remove/manipulate the existing data and perhaps apply crossfades with the adjacent bits
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4458 Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 12:00 am Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Anything cheaper than iZotopes RX?

Post by ken long »

Mixedup wrote:
ken long wrote:Many editors have a spectrum view that will allow you to surgically remove the clicks much like photoshop.


I believe only CEDAR and iZotope can intelligently fill the gaps left behind by your spectral edits by interpolation, in the same way that Photoshop can when, for example, removing a telegraph pole from a pic.


Well not really. Wavelab is very good at this too (I use it everyday for such tasks). And as I mentioned, Sony Spectral layers takes it a step further with the ability to reveal layers behind layers. There's quite a few options on the market now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juD6KKrM0Bs

Glad to hear it was a buffer issue. Makes it much easier to deal with ;)
User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3388 Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:00 am Location: Somers Town
I'm All Ears.
Post Reply