Zoom R16 Problem ??

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Moderator: Moderators

Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Mickster »

Hi...new member here. I have a Zoom R16 that I use as an audio interface with Reaper. It's updated for both the system software and drivers. Reaper is updated as well. I recently moved to a new home. Before the move I didn't have the issue I'm going to outline.

Using the R16 with Reaper for recording is fine.....no issues. I'm able to process more than 20 tracks with lots of effects. There are no latency issues or breakups.

When I'm using the R16 as an AI and viewing YouTube, the video and the audio stops and starts. Oddly....when YouTube is playing their commercials there are no stuttering and audio issues. It only occurs when choosing and playing a video. If I bypass the R16 and just plug my headphones into the laptop there are no issues at all. So...it has to be something with the R16....right?

I'm using the same laptop as before my move. It's a Lenovo with win7.

Any ideas?
Mickster
New here
Posts: 11 Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:04 pm

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by resistorman »

Sounds like internet problems.
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2715 Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am Location: Asheville NC
"The Best" piece of gear is subjective.

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Hugh Robjohns »

Have you tried increasing the audio driver buffer size?
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 39313 Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound...
(But generally posting my own personal views and not necessarily those of SOS, the company or the magazine!)
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Mickster »

Please explain. My current internet has measured faster than my previous one. No issues when not using the Zoom and playing YT vids just via the Lenovo. Can play YouTube vids all day long with no problems. Not saying you're wrong....but how does the internet speed....or other internet factor....come into play when using the Zoom? I was thinking my problem was some sort of issue with the laptop resources being strained.
Mickster
New here
Posts: 11 Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:04 pm

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Mickster »

Thanks. I did try using a larger buffer size. No change. Set at 256 and using ASIO.
Mickster
New here
Posts: 11 Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:04 pm

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Drew Stephenson »

Worth checking the sample rate on the zoom as well (if it's adjustable).
But buffer size sounds most likely.
User avatar
Drew Stephenson
Forum Aficionado
Posts: 24890 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am Location: York
(The forumuser formerly known as Blinddrew)
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...
https://drewstephenson.bandcamp.com/

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by James Perrett »

I wonder if this could be related to the sample rate of the video? Maybe videos at one sample rate give problems while the adverts at a different sample rate are fine.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 14463 Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by resistorman »

Mickster wrote: Thu Aug 18, 2022 8:56 pm Please explain.

Because you say there's no problem using it with Reaper, and it stutters watching video.

On the other hand, What about local files just played through your media player, not Reaper? As far as I know, you're not using ASIO when playing back general media on Windows, so it may be an issue with how the Zoom handles MME.
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2715 Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am Location: Asheville NC
"The Best" piece of gear is subjective.

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Hugh Robjohns »

Mickster wrote: Thu Aug 18, 2022 9:02 pm Thanks. I did try using a larger buffer size. No change. Set at 256 and using ASIO.

Go bigger! Latency really doesn't matter for playback!
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 39313 Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound...
(But generally posting my own personal views and not necessarily those of SOS, the company or the magazine!)
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by merlyn »

Kind of strange/annoying as you've solved the difficult bit (low latency with Reaper) and it's falling over at the easy bit (desktop audio).

I doubt your browser is using ASIO. I would think you'd have to close Reaper for a browser to produce any sound.

If you have spare inputs on the R16 you could take a line out from the motherboard sound into the R16. That way you could use the R16 for Reaper and the motherboard sound for browsers, media players and any other desktop audio.
merlyn
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1282 Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 2:15 am
It ain't what you don't know. It's what you know that ain't so.

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Mickster »

Thanks for the suggestions so far! The R16 sample rate is fixed at 44.1k. As for local files played through the Zoom...no problem....and that includes non-YouTube videos (on the laptop) as well as normal audio files.

I did change the buffer size up from 256 where it is now. No change.

I need some education as to how the sample rate of the video affects the R16. Interesting. Keep in mind that when I unplug the Zoom from the Lenovo and plug my headphones directly into the laptop...all is fine....so I have to think it's some sort of "overload" problem for the Lenovo when viewing YouTube vids. But....for years prior to my move.....there was never any sort of issue playing YouTube vids. And....as I mentioned....my current internet speed measures a bit better than my previous location.

Admittedly....this is not a major problem of any sort. And....when YouTube is playing their commercials (before the video) there is never a problem. To be honest....it's just one of those problems that makes me want to find the solution.....thinking I'll surely learn something I didn't know before.
Mickster
New here
Posts: 11 Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:04 pm

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Mickster »

Merlyn......thanks for the suggestion! That might make it less annoying!
Mickster
New here
Posts: 11 Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:04 pm

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Drew Stephenson »

Mickster wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 1:41 pmwhen YouTube is playing their commercials (before the video) there is never a problem.

This is the bit that is bugging me here! It doesn't make sense to me.
User avatar
Drew Stephenson
Forum Aficionado
Posts: 24890 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am Location: York
(The forumuser formerly known as Blinddrew)
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...
https://drewstephenson.bandcamp.com/

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by James Perrett »

I don't know how the R16 drivers work, but the Zoom U44 can produce sound from YouTube at the same time as playing sound from Reaper so there must be some kind of software mixing going on in the interface driver.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 14463 Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by merlyn »

Mickster wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 1:41 pm ....so I have to think it's some sort of "overload" problem for the Lenovo when viewing YouTube vids.

Is your CPU getting overloaded? Pull up task manager and you can see what the CPU usage is. It seems unlikely, as you said it worked previously.

James Perrett wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 2:13 pm I don't know how the R16 drivers work, but the Zoom U44 can produce sound from YouTube at the same time as playing sound from Reaper so there must be some kind of software mixing going on in the interface driver.

The U44 then has a 'multi-client' driver. The R16 may or may not, which @Mickster could shed some light on.
merlyn
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1282 Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 2:15 am
It ain't what you don't know. It's what you know that ain't so.

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Mickster »

I pulled up the CPU usage and watched it while using the R16 and while not. Both times playing YT vids. It didn't spike very high at all for either. As for a "multi-client" driver for the R16....I admit I have no idea what you're referring to...so...please expand on it. I'm using the Zoom R16 drivers from their website.

I've been convinced that the problem was overloading the Lenovo because...taking the R16 out of the loop solves the issue. Relooking at it...it could easily be an issue with the R16. But...when I moved I packed up my audio desk completely. The Lenovo and R16 were not even unpacked for some time and neither was used in between. The only change was the wifi password after unpacking.

So...as I said...using the R16 with Reaper is just fine...as it has been for years. It's really a great AI. And after all...that's what I use it for. Playing YT vids through my system monitors and cans was just for fun.

Probably....one day....I'll find the answer...or worse yet...the problem will disappear and I'll never know the answer.
Mickster
New here
Posts: 11 Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:04 pm

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by N i g e l »

This might be usefull as I guess the R8, R16 & R24 are similar.

Ive got an R8 which I use as a sketch pad. The 44.1 is only a requirement if you want to use internal effects, which are fixed to 44.1.

I plugged the R8 into my PC for the 1st time & had no problem watching 4k uTube.
My DAW didnt work in parallel so I downloaded and installed the R8 driver.

UTube & DAW could play back through the R8 at the same time.
.....Although I noticed that the R8 had shifted to 48.0 [in the USB display]

I looked at the ethernet card data performance on Task manager and was surprised that the Advert data rate was a lot lower than for content.
I cant give figures as the rate is full speed or 0, only the gap between blocks changes.
User avatar
N i g e l
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3746 Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm Location: British Isles

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by merlyn »

N i g e l wrote: Sun Aug 28, 2022 11:48 pm UTube & DAW could play back through the R8 at the same time.

That is a multi-client driver. It can do Windows audio and ASIO at the same time.

.....Although I noticed that the R8 had shifted to 48.0 [in the USB display]

That sounds like it could be a problem. Say you're playing back audio in your DAW at 44.1 Sa/s and then play back a Utube video, does the sample rate still change?

I think the problem Mickster was having is something to do with this. ASIO and Windows audio should be at the same sample rate.
merlyn
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1282 Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 2:15 am
It ain't what you don't know. It's what you know that ain't so.

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by Mickster »

Nigel...merlyn...thanks! Awesome feedback! I have to see if I can note the same change to 48. on my R16....though suppodedly it's fixed at 44.1.

And under the heading of...." I know it's not important"....I'm still completely baffled as to how in December I was able to play UT vids with no issues and then not able to in March...after moving to a new state. As I mentioned previously, my internet speed is actually a bit better than it was in my previous home. I guess UT could have made changes in that time...or who knows?

Again...thanks for the responses guys. Your knowledge is impressive and very welcome. You may have found the answer!

Mick
Mickster
New here
Posts: 11 Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:04 pm

Re: Zoom R16 Problem ??

Post by N i g e l »

:thumbup:

I set up the R8 and used it successfully as an AI at 44.1,48 & 96kHz [also does 88.2 but I didnt try that] along with youtube listening.

I controlled the sampling frequency using controls inside the DAW - it was a bit of a palava as the DAW reported that the frequency couldnt be changed because the AI was currently being used by a DAW :crazy:

..but when I closed the DAW down and then reopened it, the frequency changed to tje new frequency and was reported as such to the R8 LCD.

I had no problems opening uTube afterwards, it seemed to have no problem working with any of the sample rates.
User avatar
N i g e l
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3746 Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm Location: British Isles
Post Reply