Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by alexis »

robinv wrote:Personally, i've been finding that with each update my computer gets "better", but accepted wisdom says you should defer.

Thanks for that, robinv!

I should also explicitly thank you for your great article. So glad it is pinned to the top of this subforum! I reviewed it last night as I was setting up my new W10 - great resource.

One other question for your or any other W10 cognoscenti - regarding MalwareBytes.

The W10 update process was done on my DAW, by ADK remotely. I noticed before they upgraded they seemed to remove MalwareBytes from my computer, "the upgrade works better with it gone" they answered when I asked.

So, after all was said and done, there was no trace of MalwareBytes on my computer. I contacted them, and within hours they had emailed me my personal code (worth $$), and now I'm up and running with that as well.

But ... I will be doing the upgrade on my other computers myself ... and am wondering - do I really have to wipe all traces of MalwareBytes from my computers before doing so?

Thanks for any thoughts!
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3664 Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Cubase 9.0.1; i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by JSantos »

Just recently updated to Windows 10 earlier this morning.

Then I had to roll back because

-plenty of my drivers were missing. My ASIO was even mis-aligned. :frown:
-my wifi adapter wasn't working. also my LAN card.
-some USBs lost functionality.

I upgraded from Windows 7 Ultimate Edition to Windows 10. I believe registry troubles caused these little problems.

Has anyone ever encountered a different outcome coming from Windows 7 Ultimate? I'm planning to do a fresh install instead of proceeding with an upgrade.
JSantos
Poster
Posts: 12 Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by damoore »

You were lucky. When I tried to update to W10, my machine wouldn't even boot. Had to completely reinstall 7.

The software I had used to clone my disk before hand did not create a bootable drive, too, so it was back to square 1. At least I was able to get all my files back.
damoore
Frequent Poster
Posts: 981 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:00 am Location: New Hampshire

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by alexis »

damoore wrote:You were lucky. When I tried to update to W10, my machine wouldn't even boot. Had to completely reinstall 7.

The software I had used to clone my disk before hand did not create a bootable drive, too, so it was back to square 1. At least I was able to get all my files back.

Hi - I don't know much about these things ... so I was under the impression that a clone was a bit-for-bit copy from one drive to another, so it would be supposed to create that bootable drive.

Where is that thinking in error, yikes!?
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3664 Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Cubase 9.0.1; i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by Bojet »

Hi all,

I'm on Windows 10 with Pro Tools 12 HD. My problem is when I try to import a video to PT (no matter what kind of... mp4, mov, avi, whatever) it can't import it. I installed the latest quicktime (7.7.9) and Avid codecs LE 2.7.3 for win...
But no luck.
Any help?
Thanks a lot!
Bojet
Posts: 1 Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 2:53 pm

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by robinv »

Bojet wrote:Hi all,

I'm on Windows 10 with Pro Tools 12 HD. My problem is when I try to import a video to PT (no matter what kind of... mp4, mov, avi, whatever) it can't import it. I installed the latest quicktime (7.7.9) and Avid codecs LE 2.7.3 for win...
But no luck.
Any help?
Thanks a lot!

Hi Bojet - welcome to the forum!
Do these videos play back ok generally in Windows in Films/TV or Media Player?
User avatar
robinv
Frequent Poster
Posts: 594 Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 12:00 am
Molten Music Technology - Computers for doing music on

Making Music on the Microsoft Surface

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by fxsoundscapes »

I found that WIN 7 was much more problem free in so many ways. After switching to win 10 all the problems started with daw software, plugins etc. :headbang:
So it needs some figuring out and setting changes but once you get there it works just fine. :thumbup:
fxsoundscapes
Poster
Posts: 14 Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:29 pm

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by N i g e l »

Dont be afraid to ask the hyper global mega Microsoft corporation support team for help.

When I first read Robins article intro I was highly sceptical that Microsoft were keen to help *me* get the best Windows 10 experience.

This week I contacted Microsoft support for the 1st time using the chat app (about my THR10 editor problem). I now stand corrected and am impressed by their level of commitment .

Amazing ! There was no waiting & after 3 guesses the AI robot gave up and put me through to a real person. He knew his stuff and was very keen to help. Unable to solve the problem at his level, he connected me to the Level 2 support. Again very efficient and keen to assist me achieve a solution to the problem.

This was all over a couple of hours of Microsofts time.
User avatar
N i g e l
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2334 Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm Location: British Isles

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by shmuelyosef »

I have always been windows and Unix (never MAC or iOS), and have lived with the 'wonkiness' of it all. I am delighted with Windows since moving to Windows 10 PRO. I have also let the updates run unfettered in both my laptop (recent) and DAW Workstation (7-8 year old custom tower build).
Thanx for the pointer to this (albeit dated) article!
shmuelyosef
Poster
Posts: 12 Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:13 am

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by adrian_k »

A bit of a post script - I finally upgraded my 6 year old W7 laptop today. Wouldn’t have bothered but my DAW is no longer supported on W7. Bit of a faff, a couple of hangs, a reboot and 2 attempts but got there in the end.

If there is anyone else out there on W7 and thinking of upgrading note that despite what MS have said you can still upgrade for free. I followed the instructions here:

ZDNET article
User avatar
adrian_k
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1534 Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:00 am Location: Gloucestershire
getting better all the time..

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by Von Junzt »

WDF01000.sys started giving me quite a bit of bother last weekend. I hadn't recorded in a whlie. So I finally decided to reinstall Windows 10 (Pro), and set up a user account specifically for audio.

Despite this, a renewed check with LatencyMon still showed the scoundrel was acting up, as well as the DirectX driver. I found a fix - in advanced system settings I simply deactivated all visual effects. This seems to have had a positive effect.

Has anyone else here experienced the same?

BTW I am using a Lenovo ThinkPad T480 with an i5 8350U, 16 GB of RAM, and a 250 GB M.2 SSD (the latter will be upgraded to a 1 TB M.2 SSD sooner or later). I have been thinking about getting a workstation tower PC, and throw in an RME PCIe card to hook up a preamp to achieve low latencies.
Von Junzt
Poster
Posts: 15 Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:59 pm

Re: Windows 10 for musicians SOS article

Post by CS70 »

That's just the library with the generic windows driver framework functions, so the problem is likely elsewhere, in one of your drivers. Long shot, but if it's graphic-card related, these Intel onboard graphic cards didn't use to have their own memory, but used the regular one.. failures may indicate a looming problem your dram chips. Try a RAM diagnostics and see what it gives.

As of RME on PCI, I cannot but recommend it: on a pc which is by far not super-powerful (and some 4-5 years old now) I can run a 32 sample buffer = 0.7ms reported latency, with 4ms roundtrip latency. W10 needs a bit of tweaking to achieve that, however.
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7799 Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:00 am Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page
Post Reply