PC upgrade - a diary

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Moderator: Moderators

PC upgrade - a diary

Post by Drew Stephenson »

Having had my current PC for about 10 years or so (I forget really) it's been creaking a bit and I've bitten the bullet and ordered a replacement.
As it should arrive in about a week. I thought I'd do a little diary to capture the inevitable trials and tribulations of migrating from one machine to the other.
Hopefully there may be some useful nuggets in here for anyone else contemplating the same adventure.

The story so far
Hardware
I'm not a computer expert, but I am a heavy user with a technical background. But when I started looking around I realised that what little technical knowledge I had was completely out of date and all the current specs meant nothing to me.
Based on the recommendations on previous threads here, and their presence on this forum, I dropped a note to Scan with my thoughts and a few queries. As well as my PC getting long in the tooth my interface is getting on a bit too and I was a bit worried about any potential issues there.
After an email chat with Pete I had a recommendation which I was able to run by Focusrite to check that things should be compatible.
There was then a bit of back and forth because computers have got bigger since I last bought one and the cabinet I built to house mine won't fit the standard 3XS case that Scan use.
But that's been resolved and my order placed.
So that's the hardware.

Software
I started noting down all programs and plugins I use to make a list of what I need to do to transfer them, where licence files are stored, etc. etc.
It turns out I have a shed-load of freebie plugins that I really don't need and this is quite an opportunity to cut back!