Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by Sam Spoons »

Yes, definitely good advice. CAT5 Ethercons can be used with CAT6 cable but a ready made cable would normally be supplied with the associated connectors. And there are well documented problems with when the screen is not continuous between the two devices.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 17866 Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am Location: Manchester UK
Your karma has run over my dogma

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by RMCL »

Yes - although shielded cable is used this does not necessarily mean that the shield is connected to the shell of the etherCon connector.

The Neutrix NE8MX cable connector carrier converts a pre-assembled RJ45 to an etherCon Cat5E/Cat6E connector. At https://www.neutrik.com/en/product/ne8mx there is a download that lists the RJ45 connectors from different suppliers that are compatible with the NE8MX, together with information on whether these RJ45 connectors are for shielded cable (or not), plus the CAT of cable that the RJ45 connectors are compatible with. It is possible for a shielded cable to be used with a RJ45 not designed to be used with a shield, resulting in the cable shield not being connected to the shell of the etherCon connector.
RMCL
Poster
Posts: 20 Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:31 pm

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by Sam Spoons »

Yes, true, as you said, the spec for the X32 AES50 require that the screens be connected to the Ethercon shell at both ends.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 17866 Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am Location: Manchester UK
Your karma has run over my dogma

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by Dave Rowles »

Cable didn't arrive in time for the gig, so I had to use an off-the-shelf 2m CAT5e cable from PC World.

It worked, but obviously not a long distance, so I racked it all into the same rack and used good old analogue stage boxes.

Proper cable has just arrived so will check those things out!

Thank you all!
User avatar
Dave Rowles
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1365 Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:00 am Location: Isle of Man
http://www.manninmusic.com Teacher - Isle of Man
http://www.manninmusic.shop Music Shop - Isle of Man
https://www.facebook.com/mannin.sound - PA Hire/Sound Engineer - Isle of Man

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by jc051901 »

I bought a cat6e shielded for the x32 going to the x16. I wanted to get the cat5e shielded, but nobody has it. And I needed it fast. Hope everything works out.
jc051901
Posts: 1 Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2022 3:36 am

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by BigRedX »

I wouldn't use any ethernet cable in a live situation unless it was extra rugged and sported proper Ethercon connectors by a reputable brand. Anything else is fine for one off emergency situations, but don't expect it to last in continuous usage especially in a rig that is repeatedly set up and knocked down.

IMO all consumer/office grade computer components are simply not robust enough for the demands gigging puts on them. Ethernet cables in particular are set and forget, and in those circumstances they work perfectly well. Just don't expect ordinary ones to still be working and making reliable connections after a month or two of weekly gigging.

Speaking from personal experience.
User avatar
BigRedX
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1809 Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:00 am
RockinRollin' VampireMan

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by MarkOne »

Not the same thing I know, but for our permanent install at our church, we’ve been running an A&H AR2412 to our SQ5 with shielded cat 6 off a drum I bought from screwfix with standard RJ45 plugs. And it has worked perfectly.

I wouldn’t do that for a portable solution, but for an installation, it seems fine.
MarkOne
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2119 Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:00 am Location: Bristol, England, Earth, Perseus Gap, Milky Way
My Music on Apple Music
My Music on Spotify

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by AlecSp »

MarkOne wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 5:51 pm Not the same thing I know, but for our permanent install at our church, we’ve been running an A&H AR2412 to our SQ5 with shielded cat 6 off a drum I bought from screwfix with standard RJ45 plugs. And it has worked perfectly.

The plain truth is that dSnake over AES50 is one of the massive benefits that A&H's SQ series has over X32. *Way* more resilient and forgiving of cables.
AlecSp
Frequent Poster
Posts: 591 Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:00 am Location: Herts, UK

Re: Cabling for AES50 (X32 - DL32)

Post by BigRedX »

MarkOne wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 5:51 pm Not the same thing I know, but for our permanent install at our church, we’ve been running an A&H AR2412 to our SQ5 with shielded cat 6 off a drum I bought from screwfix with standard RJ45 plugs. And it has worked perfectly.

I wouldn’t do that for a portable solution, but for an installation, it seems fine.

Exactly. "Set and forget" just like network connections on desktop computers in the office. They work fine for years because they never get touched. On the other hand when I was in charge of such things the RJ45 connectors on cables attached to laptops used to need replacing every 6 months or so, because the locking tag would eventually break off and they would loose connection at a critical moment. I used to have to tell users with laptops to let me know the moment their RJ45 plug broke so I could replace the cable straight away and not when a large file transfer stalled mid way through.
User avatar
BigRedX
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1809 Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:00 am
RockinRollin' VampireMan
Post Reply