New Hydrasynth Models

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by Zukan »

The Elf wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 9:10 am Those of us who attended the 'bring a cake, win a synth' at the last meeting now get a free synth every month for life. I didn't realise you didn't get in on it, Zuke! ;):lol:

No one mentioned cake.
Why did no one mention cake?
User avatar
Zukan
Moderator
Posts: 9569 Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:00 am
'Shaka. When the walls fell. Zukan...with his arms wide.'
Eddie Bazil
Samplecraze 
The Audio Production Hub

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by Folderol »

Zukan wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 8:48 am Who are you lot sleeping with? It seems you buy a synth every other week. I need to change my client list. Maybe working the Yemeni angle wasn't so prudent.

I'm still saving up for a Midisport 4x4.

Maybe we need a "Desitute Muso" forum - I'd be spending a lot of time there too!
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14945 Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:00 am Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by Luke W »

Eddy Deegan wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 2:57 am One external lump doesn't seem too bad but once you have many, a small number of which don't play well with accompanying devices in adjacent sockets, it becomes an absolute nightmare.


Eddy Deegan wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 2:57 am Further, the flimsy leads on externals are fixed length and often too short. If they're not too short they're too long. If everything used IEC sockets I'd be far better off organisationally. If you have a built-in supply you can use the correct cable length for the requirement. Thicker cables, yes, but far preferable due to no lumps, more sturdiness and a consistent aesthetic right down to the plug.

This sums up what I was too tired to type last night very well. Wiring racks etc and having to accommodate external lumps and have the cable lengths dictate where things can go is infuriating. There are always ways to make it work, and I've taken fairly extreme measures in some builds, but wherever possible I try to avoid gear that requires said effort.
User avatar
Luke W
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1279 Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:00 am Location: Northamptonshire, UK

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by Zukan »

Folderol wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 9:17 am
Zukan wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 8:48 am Who are you lot sleeping with? It seems you buy a synth every other week. I need to change my client list. Maybe working the Yemeni angle wasn't so prudent.

I'm still saving up for a Midisport 4x4.

Maybe we need a "Desitute Muso" forum - I'd be spending a lot of time there too!

I like that.
User avatar
Zukan
Moderator
Posts: 9569 Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:00 am
'Shaka. When the walls fell. Zukan...with his arms wide.'
Eddie Bazil
Samplecraze 
The Audio Production Hub

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by N i g e l »

Zukan wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 9:16 am FS1R?

yeah thats the one. It had an IEC cable but used to nag "Replace battery CR2032", which made me sad..... another 10 years had passed.
User avatar
N i g e l
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2379 Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm Location: British Isles

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by Zukan »

I've owned a number of them before. The classic 'I sell it then realise my mistake and buy another one'. I wish I'd kept it though because it really was damn good even with the painful editing.
User avatar
Zukan
Moderator
Posts: 9569 Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:00 am
'Shaka. When the walls fell. Zukan...with his arms wide.'
Eddie Bazil
Samplecraze 
The Audio Production Hub

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by N i g e l »

If you ever get the FS1r urge again, be sure to checkout the MODX 1st [or MONTAGE for those on the synths for cakes scheme].

FS1r was FM & formant whereas MODX is FM & samples but it has formant filters, multiple parts & motion sequencing which might be an equivilent and faster to set up !

I think there are tools for transfering DX7 patches to the MODX [ alot of the FS1r presets were DX7 patches layered up with added Fx]

MODX factory presets dont do it justice.
User avatar
N i g e l
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2379 Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm Location: British Isles

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by John Stafford »

I don't mind external PSUs if they have a separate mains cable. I hate the ones that are just a fat plug.
John Stafford
Regular
Posts: 107 Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:51 am Location: Ireland

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by blinddrew »

Eddy Deegan wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 2:57 amThe reason I want them is because I have getting on for 30 synthesizers...

...I don't care about the cost, I don't care about the technicalities. I'm a consumer for whom companies are building these instruments and devices...

Whilst I appreciate that you alone may be a significant part of their market share ;) I humbly suggest that you might not be a 'typical' customer... ;)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18644 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by Folderol »

I rather suspect that if given a free choice at the same price the majority of people would chose kit with a built-in PSU - not that there's any way to prove it!

Also, I suspect that there are relatively few items of kit that can safely run off an unregulated 12V supply (as per resistorman).
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14945 Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:00 am Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by Zukan »

N i g e l wrote: Tue Sep 14, 2021 10:05 am If you ever get the FS1r urge again, be sure to checkout the MODX 1st [or MONTAGE for those on the synths for cakes scheme].

FS1r was FM & formant whereas MODX is FM & samples but it has formant filters, multiple parts & motion sequencing which might be an equivilent and faster to set up !

I think there are tools for transfering DX7 patches to the MODX [ alot of the FS1r presets were DX7 patches layered up with added Fx]

MODX factory presets dont do it justice.

I'll look into that. Thanks.
User avatar
Zukan
Moderator
Posts: 9569 Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:00 am
'Shaka. When the walls fell. Zukan...with his arms wide.'
Eddie Bazil
Samplecraze 
The Audio Production Hub

Re: New Hydrasynth Models

Post by ramthelinefeed »

Hey, PolyAT you guys! :clap:
ramthelinefeed
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2361 Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 12:00 am Location: UK
A weasel hath not such a deal of spleen as you are tossed with! 
Post Reply