Do I need a second ground connection?

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply

Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by solaris »

Hi there, I am building my studio and someone told me that the connection to earth forthe audio equipment should be different from the lights, A/C etc. I could add a second ground connetion in the garden. Is it necessary for a professional studio?

Also how do we measure the quality of the ground? What should I aim for?

Thank you very much in advance.
User avatar
solaris
Regular
Posts: 70 Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:00 am Location: Greece

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by Folderol »

No. While each of these should have their own route back to the distribution unit, never have two separate earth sources in the same area. As I was once told, "There is no such thing as Earth potential".
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14771 Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:00 am Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by solaris »

That is great. Thank you for the information.
Are all grounds created equal or should I somehow measure the one I've got?

Thanks again.
User avatar
solaris
Regular
Posts: 70 Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:00 am Location: Greece

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by Hugh Robjohns »

Employ a qualified electrician. This is not something to 'experiment with. There are rules and regulations...
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 33797 Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound...
(But generally posting my own personal views and not necessarily those of SOS, the company or the magazine!)
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by solaris »

Hugh Robjohns wrote: Tue Dec 07, 2021 9:42 pm Employ a qualified electrician

Thank you very much for your answer. I have employed a qualified electrician but he is not specialized in recording studios. So the connection to the ground will be safe and according to the rules etc., but I don't know if I need something better for the studio and what would that be. Like I could tell him that the ground "resistance" should be so and so.

Thank you for your help.
User avatar
solaris
Regular
Posts: 70 Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:00 am Location: Greece

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by Hugh Robjohns »

solaris wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:33 amI have employed a qualified electrician but he is not specialized in recording studios. So the connection to the ground will be safe and according to the rules etc., but I don't know if I need something better for the studio and what would that be

I'm afraid I don't know what the rules are in Greece. In the UK, the standard IEEE rules are generally entirely appropriate for a recording studio -- although as Folderol says above, it is important to keep the mains supply for studio equipment separate from the utility supplies for lighting, HVAC, and so on. All mains safety grounds should meet at the incoming mains feeder's earthing point.

Obviously, you need the studio mains safety ground to be as low-impedance as possible, which means using the thickest ground cable back to the distribution box that's practical for the installation.

Installing a separate 'Technical Earth' -- which is what I think you're referring to -- requires very specialised design and installation as there are significant safety issues to be dealt with, and in most cases it won't actually bring about any worthwhile advantages anyway.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 33797 Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound...
(But generally posting my own personal views and not necessarily those of SOS, the company or the magazine!)
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by solaris »

That is amazing. I found the IEEE rules, so I have a general idea of the resistance values. Thank you both for your help.
User avatar
solaris
Regular
Posts: 70 Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:00 am Location: Greece

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by Wonks »

Hugh Robjohns wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:48 am
In the UK, the standard IEEE rules are generally entirely appropriate for a recording studio.

NOT the IEEE in the UK. :headbang:

The IEEE is an American organisation.

In the UK, BS7671, (currently the 18th edition of the IET wiring regulations) is the appropriate document to refer to. The IET was formerly the IEE (whose name could have caused confusion with the IEEE as they are very similar organisations in their respective countries), but the IEE merged with the IIE to become the IET back in March 2006.

I’m sure the IEEE guidelines contain a lot of useful information that runs in parallel with the IET regs, but they should not be used as the basis for UK installations.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12628 Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am Location: Reading, UK
Reliably fallible.

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by Hugh Robjohns »

Apologies: typo on my part! :oops: And I should have caught it as the IET Wiring Regs are on the shelf beside me!
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 33797 Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound...
(But generally posting my own personal views and not necessarily those of SOS, the company or the magazine!)
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by Paton.90 »

I think if you are careful with the wiring, and how you connect your equipment, there wouldn't be reason to be worried about earth issues.

BUT, if you have the money and the time to design something (with a qualified electrician like Hugh said), read and google about "star ground", although it's complex i've heard it gives very good results. Maybe people here know more about it or have a different opinion.
Paton.90
Poster
Posts: 16 Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:55 pm

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by Mike Stranks »

Paton.90 wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 7:56 am I think if you are careful with the wiring, and how you connect your equipment, there wouldn't be reason to be worried about earth issues.

Sorry to be blunt, but NO!

With a new-build you have to be absolutely sure there's a proper and good earth. Without it the risk of killing yourself or others or burning the place down is very substantially increased.

ALWAYS be sure about good, solid earth connections in any sort of building - new or otherwise.
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9156 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Do I need a second ground connection?

Post by Paton.90 »

Mike Stranks wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:32 am
Paton.90 wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 7:56 am I think if you are careful with the wiring, and how you connect your equipment, there wouldn't be reason to be worried about earth issues.

Sorry to be blunt, but NO!

With a new-build you have to be absolutely sure there's a proper and good earth. Without it the risk of killing yourself or others or burning the place down is very substantially increased.

ALWAYS be sure about good, solid earth connections in any sort of building - new or otherwise.

I assumed he already had a proper earth connection and was thinking of adding an extra one for his new studio, i imagined like a new room in his house or something like that. Maybe i misunderstood :oops:
Paton.90
Poster
Posts: 16 Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:55 pm
Post Reply