Anyone still using a Tascam FW-1884?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply

Anyone still using a Tascam FW-1884?

Post by FrankF »

There's one going cheap near me, so I was thinking I might take a punt and hook it up to an old XP machine (with Firewire) that I have kippling away in a spare room.

Drivers are still to be had via Tascam (after 15 odd years - well done Tascam!), so that shouldn't be a problem.

But what about latency on a 17-year old PC?
Anyone have any recent (or not so recent) experience of using this interface?
The FW-1884 looks as if it's built like a tank, by the way, so it might even be fully working. :thumbup:
FrankF
Regular
Posts: 285 Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:00 am Location: La Vendée, France

Re: Anyone still using a Tascam FW-1884?

Post by FrankF »

Anyone?
I know it's an old machine, but I thought nostalgia had come back into fashion!
FrankF
Regular
Posts: 285 Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:00 am Location: La Vendée, France

Re: Anyone still using a Tascam FW-1884?

Post by Sam Spoons »

If it's just for recording live instruments (as opposed to VSTi's) or mixing then latency shouldn't be an issue, we all managed with horrendous latency figures back in the early days. The problem may be channel count and plug ins but can you test all of that by importing a project from your main machine?
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 17141 Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am Location: Manchester UK
Your karma has run over my dogma

Re: Anyone still using a Tascam FW-1884?

Post by OneWorld »

FrankF wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 5:43 pm Anyone?
I know it's an old machine, but I thought nostalgia had come back into fashion!

Yes but nostalgia isn't what it used to be, is there a future for it?
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3387 Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Anyone still using a Tascam FW-1884?

Post by FrankF »

Thanks, Sam.
I was hoping to get some anecdotal doodahs from peeps who've used it in the hoary past, but, no matter.
I shall go and visit the chap and see what's what. He says he's had it working pretty well with Reaper, and I've read of people getting it working with W7 and even W10, so I need to see what PC he's actually hooking it up to.
All I want really is fader and transport controls with my Reaper system, and I'll be happy.
FrankF
Regular
Posts: 285 Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:00 am Location: La Vendée, France
Post Reply