Have I Been Conned?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by pa28 »

fatbenelton wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 3:00 pm I’m on Mac/have no idea. I just set it up in studio and it works.

OK but my problem was on Win 7 64bit as said...
User avatar
pa28
Regular
Posts: 153 Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:00 am Location: u.k. London
Capitalisation is the difference between helping your uncle jack off a horse  & helping your Uncle Jack off a horse.

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by fatbenelton »

Indeed you did but the set up in Cubase should be the same and equally simple. I’ll leave you to it.
User avatar
fatbenelton
Frequent Poster
Posts: 676 Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 12:00 am Location: Liverpool, UK
Jonny

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by pa28 »

Quite right and so it should be, but it isn't, so now hopefully Hermes carriers will be taking this well made doorstop back to Amazon tommorow. Behringer look like they will be getting my wonga now.
User avatar
pa28
Regular
Posts: 153 Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:00 am Location: u.k. London
Capitalisation is the difference between helping your uncle jack off a horse  & helping your Uncle Jack off a horse.

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by pk.roberts »

Looking at the Tech Specs on the Presonus website, it does show Windows 10, 64 bit as the minimum spec required.
pk.roberts
Regular
Posts: 97 Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 12:00 am
Ain't No Party Like an S Club Party

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by pa28 »

pk.roberts wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 3:28 pm Looking at the Tech Specs on the Presonus website, it does show Windows 10, 64 bit as the minimum spec required.

Yep correct thats why I tried on Win 10 64 bit first to see if it was worth updating to Win 10 on my main music PC. But sadly complete failure all round.

So, on its way back tommorow and the "X Touch" will be ordered once refund in bank.
User avatar
pa28
Regular
Posts: 153 Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:00 am Location: u.k. London
Capitalisation is the difference between helping your uncle jack off a horse  & helping your Uncle Jack off a horse.

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by pa28 »

Well the X-Touch arrived, and all up and running using the same Mackie Protocol that Presonus said would work with Cubase but doesn't, really pleased with the extra functionally of this piece of kit, a different way of working as I had got used to with the Classic Faderport for many years, but hey-ho moved on and back to work.. :bouncy:
User avatar
pa28
Regular
Posts: 153 Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:00 am Location: u.k. London
Capitalisation is the difference between helping your uncle jack off a horse  & helping your Uncle Jack off a horse.

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by The Elf »

Thanks for coming back to let us know. It's good when these things work out.

For lots of extra switch functions you might also look at Stream Deck - that's the most used remote device in my studio, used to run Cubase, invoke macros, switch mixer views, run backups, open folders, change the colour of my studio lights... almost anything you can come up with. It's quite a life-changing device!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18357 Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by Chromeman »

The Elf wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:50 pm For lots of extra switch functions you might also look at Stream Deck


Which version do you have as a matter of interest? Amazon has a Mk1 and Mk2 version of the 15 key unit. 32 keys would be overkill for me I think.
Chromeman
Regular
Posts: 189 Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:00 am

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by The Elf »

I find the XL better for the studio, as it works in rows of 8, which is a bit of a studio 'norm'. I standardise my top row to page navigation and program launching, so the rest is available for functions. My main Cubase layout is shown below (the rainbow takes me into a screen full of colours for colouring my tracks/parts).

But I also have the smaller 5x3, which is fine for my living room laptop.

BTW I see no advantage to the SD Mk2 - it even comes with a now fixed angle stand, which kills one of the Mk1's best features!)

Image
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18357 Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by Chromeman »

Thanks for that. Very helpful re the different versions. Have gone for the 32 key in the end - as you said, having 4 banks of 8 makes a lot of sense for DAW use. Cheers.
Chromeman
Regular
Posts: 189 Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:00 am

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by Sam Spoons »

I have the Stream Dock mini and it's very useful but I hate the wedge shape, the front panel is just not at the right angle for easy operation. I nearly bought the Stream Dock mk2 but thankfully spotted fixed front panel angle which made it a nonstarter. I have an original Stream Dock on the way from Thomann as I type.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 17402 Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am Location: Manchester UK
Your karma has run over my dogma

Re: Have I Been Conned?

Post by The Elf »

Sam Spoons wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 4:32 pm I have the Stream Dock mini and it's very useful but I hate the wedge shape, the front panel is just not at the right angle for easy operation. I nearly bought the Stream Dock mk2 but thankfully spotted fixed front panel angle which made it a nonstarter.

Here's my guess... The fixed stand is cheaper to provide.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18357 Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.
Post Reply