New rehearsal space needs equipment, advice v welcome

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Moderator: Moderators

New rehearsal space needs equipment, advice v welcome

Post by aclarky »

Hi SOS,
new on here but a bit of advice would be appreciated if any thoughts come to mind..

I am a drummer, like to play a bit of guitar and keys and play in a 3 piece band folk / blues / rock stuff and mess around with ableton.

We live in Glasgow and in our house I have just (painstakingly) built a room inside a room with pretty standard sound proofing materials I think. Dealing with the old stone/brick walls/blocking the fireplace etc. Installing vent ducts to/from the MHRV, then built a room in a room with stud / redact clips and channel / 15mm sound block / tecsound SY100 / 15mm sound block and double fd60 door and laminated window / baffle boxes NOW plastered! Finally. Ever the optimist I though I would be able to do it in 1/2 the time. Anyway.

Very curious if it will work, I may not be able to play very late but I hope it attenuates to a decent extent..

The dimensions are 4mx4mx2.4mh. And the floor is polished concrete so pretty reflective acoustically.

Room treatment - it will have some bookshelves full of books on one side and some emergency medical kit which are basically big bags full of airways / lines / saline / dressings etc. I was just going to see what it was like but maybe you would advise treatment is always vital and so worth doing from the start? Some rooms I have seen have loads! Is there a rule of thumb? And Can I use batts of acoustic mineral wool wrapped in fabric. Clearly there isn't all that much room to play with..

The main reason I came on here was to ask about electronics however. Other than rented rehearsal rooms I have v little clue on the equipment side of things.