Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by forumuser641699 »

I'm exploring options to move away from a computer based setup.

Just wondering, are there any digital mixers that can run plugins?
User avatar
forumuser641699
Poster
Posts: 47 Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by James Perrett »

The Avid live sound consoles will run AAX and Waves plugins

https://www.avid.com/solutions/live-sound

Certain Digico consoles can be made to interface with Waves plugins but the plugins actually run on a separate computer.

I'm not sure that there is anything at the budget end of the market though.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 12229 Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by blinddrew »

All you're really doing is moving the computer into the mixer rather than having it separate.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 19263 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by Luke W »

James has beaten me to it really, I can't think of anything other than the Avid consoles and anything that will work with solutions like Waves' SoundGrid. I'm not sure what sort of budget you're looking at either but there's definitely nothing cheap!

I think the motivation for moving away from computers for a lot of people comes from wanting to avoid plug-ins and the like, so you may not find many options. Plenty of people opt for a digital desk and use all of the built-in processing/effects, whether or not that approach works for you depends on what you're wanting to achieve. :thumbup:
User avatar
Luke W
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1312 Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:00 am Location: Northamptonshire, UK

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by MarkOne »

Allen and Heath have a suite of their own plugins for the SQ range of mixers (possibly others too)

https://www.allen-heath.com/sq-series/ ... rocessing/

But obviously you are limited to what A&H make available.
MarkOne
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1650 Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:00 am Location: Bristol, England, Earth, Perseus Gap, Milky Way
Debut Album 'Fantasy Bridge' available now!

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by Dave Rowles »

Soundgrid on digico is probably the most obvious intergration, along with AVID desks using protools based system.

However you can also use LiveProfessor as a host for plugins at low latency, then using mutli-channel audio protocols such as Dante you can run into and out of a computer system. Other A&H desks have their own plugins that you can use, and the newer high end Yamaha Rivage desks use a plugin system as well.

You can also use liveprofessor on quite a few low end digital desks, as long as they allow for return from a computer. For instance on an X32 you change the inputs in the routing page to be taken from the card, then that acts as the returns from the usb connection. You can then alter the gains on the preamps via a separate menu.

I've tried it, and, to be honest, unless you're on a system or gig where very little stage sound reaches the audience it's not that much better than using the desk EQ comps etc. That said, if you need a plugin because it's the only thing that generates that special sound you need, then it's a good work around.

But as far as I know there's no desk with a general VST host built in....I'd love to be proved wrong on that though!
User avatar
Dave Rowles
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1320 Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:00 am Location: Isle of Man
http://www.manninmusic.com Bandcamp

Sound Engineer, Music Teacher, Isle of Man

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by zenguitar »

Of course, at the heart of any digital mixer you have a computer.

:o

Andy :beamup:
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 11805 Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:00 am Location: Devon
Is it about a bicycle?

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by forumuser641699 »

Thanks guys.
I work on a computer screen all day long and I just want to get away from that plus more often than not when inspiration strikes I'm met with some error or OS update, I want to go back to something simpler.

I've a few plugins I like for ease and sound so I was just wondering if such a modern mixer existed but not looking likely.

I was looking there at Tascam DP-24SD but it's 10 years old, and I don't think it's internal processing will give me what I'm looking for.
So wondering about the digital mixers that simply record to SD card or USB and having the connections to connect out.
Does something like UA do a hardware-box that can run plugins without a computer host/large screen?
Also considering maybe digging out my old Yamaha AW4416 and investing in a nice pre-amp and some analog outboard, 16 tracks is plenty and that machine had powerful automation.

Just exploring my options, I guess I want something that I can switch on and go without software errors getting in my way, like a few decent tools, hammer, drill, measuring tape that fit in the work bag and last for decades.
User avatar
forumuser641699
Poster
Posts: 47 Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by Luke W »

forumuser641699 wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 12:08 am Thanks guys.
I work on a computer screen all day long and I just want to get away from that plus more often than not when inspiration strikes I'm met with some error or OS update, I want to go back to something simpler.

That's understandable. I assume you're looking for a complete all-in-one type solution to mix on as well? If you were to have a tracking setup that let you just hit record and go, and then have the multi tracks handy to throw into a DAW at a later stage then you've got a lot more options. You won't have your go-to plug-ins of course, but you may even find that with the right device the on-board processing got you near enough to where you wanted to be for monitoring purposes. You could then replace with the favourites further down the line.
User avatar
Luke W
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1312 Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:00 am Location: Northamptonshire, UK

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by OneWorld »

It is something I would like to do - create music without a DAW, each upgrade of my current DAW seems to increase latency, the DAW lifetime went from V1 to the current V12 and certainly up to about v8, functionality, speed, ease of use etc, improved with each new version, then it started to get 'overblown' and certainly slower

I have tried all in one hard disk recorders, but I do a lot of MIDI recording, so I have to factor HDDs out of the equation - I did try a hybrid DAW + HDD setup but that became convoluted. I try the digital desk + DAW with recording facilities, but the recording facilities on the desk seem very limited, so now I am considering the Akai MPC X, it records MIDI, Audio, has sampling, plugins etc but the audio recording is not done by way of disk streaming, which as far as I understand limits things somewhat.

I did lust after the TASCAM SX1 back in the day, it seemed the perfect choice, but the SX1 vanished off the scene almost as fast as it appeared so I guess there was a reason for that, that particular approach to recording wasn't popular? I feel instinctively that there is a market for a device that boots in an instant, well 5-12 seconds, and into the working environment eg ready to load a file/project within that 10 seconds. Can record say 16 tracks of audio, better if 32, + 16 tracks of MIDI, can load plugins, has line and mic inputs, a decent pre-amp and facility to mix down to stereo to create a master track, USB connectivity

But seeing as there is no such machine, maybe there is no requirement for one
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3473 Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by James Perrett »

OneWorld wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 6:02 pm But seeing as there is no such machine, maybe there is no requirement for one

There is such a machine - a computer. The problem is that most people expect their computers to do everything imaginable so they load them up with all kinds of extra software that runs in the background and slows things down.

If you can discipline yourself to set up a computer and DAW software with the bare minimum of additional software to get the job done then you'll be repaid with reliability and quick loading times (or at least this is true with the software that I use).
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 12229 Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Digital Mixer that runs plugins?

Post by forumuser641699 »

James Perrett wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 6:56 pm
OneWorld wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 6:02 pm But seeing as there is no such machine, maybe there is no requirement for one

There is such a machine - a computer. The problem is that most people expect their computers to do everything imaginable so they load them up with all kinds of extra software that runs in the background and slows things down.

If you can discipline yourself to set up a computer and DAW software with the bare minimum of additional software to get the job done then you'll be repaid with reliability and quick loading times (or at least this is true with the software that I use).

I've a dedicated Mac. Not switched it on for while, had a friend over last week and I wanted to play her something. Switched it on and Pro Tools refused to work complaining my interface was at a different sample rate. It worked fine last time I switched it on. This happens a lot for me, there's always something.
User avatar
forumuser641699
Poster
Posts: 47 Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 10:55 pm
Post Reply