Synth sound of Cory Henry's solo on Lingus

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Moderator: Moderators

Synth sound of Cory Henry's solo on Lingus

Post by Gioppo »

Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to the world of analog synths; I've just bought a Nord Stage 2 with its synth panel and I'm struggling to understand it.

Last time I asked for how to recreate a Sly Stone tipe of synth. Today something new.
I'd like to recreate a sound similar to the lead synth that Cory Henry plays in this solo:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_XJ_s5IsQc

I understand this is some "standard" sound of Moog, is this true?
Someone could help me? Waves form and everything else?
Thank you all and good synhtesis
Gioppo
New here

Re: Synth sound of Cory Henry's solo on Lingus

Post by BJG145 »

Solo starts here...

https://youtu.be/L_XJ_s5IsQc?t=312

I'll be interested to hear what the experts say. In the lower section it has the reedy, hollow quality I associate with a square wave...? Low-pass filter to give it that almost muffled-Hammond sound, but with the unnatural pitchbend/vibrato giving it a synthy edge...?

He's tweaking the controls a bit as he goes. At 5.00 you can see him adjusting the filter to take the brighter sound down to a mellow, darker one, changing it until he gets it where he wants it.

https://youtu.be/L_XJ_s5IsQc?t=295

What do I get out of 10? :D
BJG145
Longtime Poster

Post by Eddy Deegan »

This was slightly harder than I thought it would be. I spent a little time on the modular but although I could get the 'synth' part of the lead sound with a couple of saw oscillators and a low-pass filter with some resonance it didn't sound as 'keyboardy' as the lead does.

So I put the modular aside and got out the same synth he's using in the video (the KingKORG).