Analogue vocoder - compressor?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply

Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by baward »

I have a 1970's Korg VC-10 vocoder which is great, but I am trying out a new microphone with it. Should I use/do I need a compressor with the mic? Or a limiter? The bespoke MS-01 microphone (the one on the gooseneck) works well, but is a little long in the tooth. Thanks!
baward
Regular
Posts: 406 Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 12:00 am
 

Re: Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by resistorman »

Nope.
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2049 Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am Location: Asheville NC
"The Best" piece of gear is subjective.

Re: Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by The Elf »

No, you don't *need* a compressor with a vocoder, but it can help enormously.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18477 Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by baward »

Many thanks for your responses.
baward
Regular
Posts: 406 Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 12:00 am
 

Re: Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by resistorman »

The Elf wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 7:39 pm No, you don't *need* a compressor with a vocoder, but it can help enormously.

Sure, but this only has mic level inputs, the external 3vpp input is for tone sources. Considering you'd have to use a mic preamp into a compressor then some kind of reamp circuit to match the mic input it seems way too convoluted with a lot of potential for noise and distortion without much (ahem) gained.
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2049 Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am Location: Asheville NC
"The Best" piece of gear is subjective.

Re: Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by Sam Spoons »

Since a vocoder only uses the mic input to generate the speech formants used to modulate the synthesised sounds I can't see any advantage in using a different mic unless the original is broken?
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 17463 Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am Location: Manchester UK
Your karma has run over my dogma

Re: Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by The Elf »

Generally speaking, over the decades I've found that the cheaper the mic, the better it works with a vocoder. No need to worry about distortion, or other artifacts.

There's really very little to worry about in terms of the quality of signal arriving at the vocoder - just do what works.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18477 Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by Martin Walker »

The Elf wrote: Fri Jul 01, 2022 9:16 am There's really very little to worry about in terms of the quality of signal arriving at the vocoder - just do what works.

I'd agree with that - if anything, it's adjusting your vocal delivery that makes the biggest difference in getting a suitable vocoded sound.
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 19430 Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Analogue vocoder - compressor?

Post by Zukan »

I prefer to leave dynamic processing alone, bar maybe using eq if after a very specific texture, and letting the transients shine though into the vocoder. The transients themselves are an important aspect of vocoding particularly when affecting drum beats or highlighting the formant pops of vocals.
User avatar
Zukan
Moderator
Posts: 9598 Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:00 am
'Shaka. When the walls fell. Zukan...with his arms wide.'
Eddie Bazil
Samplecraze 
The Audio Production Hub
Post Reply