Synth sounds that fill in for guitar sonically

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Moderator: Moderators

Synth sounds that fill in for guitar sonically

Post by HatGuy »

Hello,

This is my first time posting here, but certainly won't be my last! (unless you kick me off!)

For some time now, as I've been learning synthesis (and really enjoying it) I've been wondering about this question - I'm not asking how to make a synth sound like a guitar, but which sounds are best for filling in FOR a guitar.

Context will make more sense of the question. I am a guitarist, but I'm in a band situation with no bassist. Instead of picking up the bass, I saw it as an opportunity to learn the keys and play synth bass, while further filling things up with my right hand with pads and the like.

With no guitarist though and a style of music that often would do well with having one, how can I 'fill in' or 'fill up' the sound using the synth?

I don't want to synthesize a guitar - I might as well play the guitar then; and I know there are VST's which attempt this, and I'm not too interested in that. I am looking to use the keys in a very versatile way and it would be great if it still sounds like a synth, but is able to fill in or replace the guitar.

The kind of sound I would be going for is not some super distorted crazy stuff, which I think I can find examples of - but some sort of sound(s) that provide some gentle 'jingle jangle' in sections or a bit of crunchy chords to fill up a chorus. Not Metal stuff but a bit more poppy and a bit more vintage in its approach.

I am still in the learning phases so I am using software synths of the freeware variety like Synth1 and Surge, and I am amazed at what can be done even at this level. When I am more competent, I'll look to purchase a hardware synth, but for now am experimenting with what can be achieved.