MKII Q88 not sending MIDI to TG100

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: MKII Q88 not sending MIDI to TG100

Post by ceddm »

Wonks wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 10:22 pm Did your external 9v 500mA PSU have a centre-positive connector?

Yep, center-positive. And as far as I'm aware Alesis does not sell any official power supply of this kind. They demand you buy 3rd party if you wish to use the functionality that requires it (such as using the DIN port to message an external synth/module).
ceddm
New here
Posts: 7 Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2022 9:50 pm

Re: MKII Q88 not sending MIDI to TG100

Post by Mitchell1234 »

Hi I just bought a new Q88 MK II and I am having same problem. I am going into an older QSR rack module and it won't work out of the midi out, but if I run out of the usb out through my Kenton midi USB host interface into the midi in on QSR, it works perfectly. I have tried my other keyboards with the midi out from them and no problem, changed cables etc. Have you had any luck figuring this out, or is this midi out on the Alesis not working?
Mitchell1234
Posts: 2 Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2022 5:57 pm

Re: MKII Q88 not sending MIDI to TG100

Post by resistorman »

Mitchell1234 wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 2:39 pm Hi I just bought a new Q88 MK II and I am having same problem. I am going into an older QSR rack module and it won't work out of the midi out, but if I run out of the usb out through my Kenton midi USB host interface into the midi in on QSR, it works perfectly. I have tried my other keyboards with the midi out from them and no problem, changed cables etc. Have you had any luck figuring this out, or is this midi out on the Alesis not working?

Is it possible MIDI thru is enabled?
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2226 Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am Location: Asheville NC
"The Best" piece of gear is subjective.

Re: MKII Q88 not sending MIDI to TG100

Post by Mitchell1234 »

Do you mean midi thru enabled on my rack synth? I don't think so, if I use another synth or piano with midi out, the rack synth receives controller info perfectly.
Mitchell1234
Posts: 2 Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2022 5:57 pm

Re: MKII Q88 not sending MIDI to TG100

Post by sonics »

I just read this entire thread and didn't see any mention of MIDI wiring. There could be an issue there. Not all MIDI cables (or devices) are wired the same (or correctly)! I've seen pins 1/3 linked to 4/5 and then 1/3 grounded on a device = no MIDI.
sonics
Frequent Poster
Posts: 694 Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:00 am Location: Canada
 
Post Reply