How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

For all things relating to guitars, basses, amps, pedals & accessories.

Moderator: Moderators

How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by garrettendi »

So I have a Floyd Rose guitar... No string breakage yet and I'm getting it setup in a week and a half. How long can it last if I break a string? I have no skills with altering the springs or anything, and it'd take a day or two for Amazon to send me some strings.

It currently uses 9 gauge, but I don't know which brand!
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2743 Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:00 am
My first studio microphone was a Phillips karaoke mic. I REALLY wouldn’t trust anything I say if I were you.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by zenguitar »

Missing a string from a trem of any sort will do no harm. But it will be out of tune until the string is replaced.

When you get the guitar set-up make a point of keeping the packet for the strings. It will remind you exactly what strings are fitted so you can ensure replacements are the same.

Remember, although sets might appear to have the same gauges from different makers, differences in material, type of core and ratio between core and winding means that they might require slightly different set-ups.

Andy :beamup:
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 11923 Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:00 am Location: Devon
Is it about a bicycle?

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by garrettendi »

zenguitar wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 2:42 pm Missing a string from a trem of any sort will do no harm. But it will be out of tune until the string is replaced.

When you get the guitar set-up make a point of keeping the packet for the strings. It will remind you exactly what strings are fitted so you can ensure replacements are the same.

Remember, although sets might appear to have the same gauges from different makers, differences in material, type of core and ratio between core and winding means that they might require slightly different set-ups.

Andy :beamup:

Thanks, that's exactly what I had in mind. I'm getting it set up for Ernie Ball Paradigm in 9 gauge and will be sticking with that. If the worst should happen and I get a string break in the next couple of weeks, I'll just go with a set of Ernie Ball Super Slinkies to tide me over until the setup. Will take two days for those strings to reach my hand should the need arise, and there's no point in "playing it safe" when I'm due a freebie guitar service from the shop.
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2743 Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:00 am
My first studio microphone was a Phillips karaoke mic. I REALLY wouldn’t trust anything I say if I were you.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by Kwackman »

garrettendi wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 2:44 pmIf the worst should happen and I get a string break in the next couple of weeks.

I honestly can't remember the last time I broke a string while playing a guitar.
Unless you're really rough on the guitar, I think you're over thinking this.
Just enjoy playing your new toy!

(If you do manage to break a string, I'll claim my SOS account was hacked and I didn't write this.....)
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2763 Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:00 am Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by Martin Walker »

Kwackman wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 3:29 pm Just enjoy playing your new toy!

Whatever it is (official reveal at the next SOS Virtual Meet ;) )
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 19652 Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by Kwackman »

Martin Walker wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 4:18 pm
Kwackman wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 3:29 pm Just enjoy playing your new toy!

Whatever it is (official reveal at the next SOS Virtual Meet ;) )

You'll be providing the drum roll I hope.... :D
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2763 Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:00 am Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by Exalted Wombat »

You don’t have to wait until a string breaks to order some spares!
Exalted Wombat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5754 Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:00 am Location: London UK
You don't have to write songs. The world doesn't want you to write songs. It would probably prefer it if you didn't. So write songs if you want to. Otherwise, dont bore us with beefing about it. Go fishing instead.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by Wonks »

And you need to know how to change one. So best get some cheap ones and start learning. There really is no excuse these days for not knowing how to set up your own guitar. It's not rocket science. Even Zen can do it! :D
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13578 Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am Location: Reading, UK
Reliably fallible.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by garrettendi »

Exalted Wombat wrote: Wed Aug 03, 2022 9:36 am You don’t have to wait until a string breaks to order some spares!

It's getting set up literally next week! Spare strings would be a waste of money unless needed!
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2743 Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:00 am
My first studio microphone was a Phillips karaoke mic. I REALLY wouldn’t trust anything I say if I were you.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by garrettendi »

Wonks wrote: Wed Aug 03, 2022 9:39 am And you need to know how to change one. So best get some cheap ones and start learning. There really is no excuse these days for not knowing how to set up your own guitar. It's not rocket science. Even Zen can do it! :D

I can't even drill a hole into the wall without cocking up! I do not trust my DIY skills on my guitars!
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2743 Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:00 am
My first studio microphone was a Phillips karaoke mic. I REALLY wouldn’t trust anything I say if I were you.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by garrettendi »

Just to clarify I fully intend to learn to change strings! It's just the shop I bought from has a free setup, and I want to change the brand of strings!
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2743 Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:00 am
My first studio microphone was a Phillips karaoke mic. I REALLY wouldn’t trust anything I say if I were you.

Re: How long can a Floyd Rose be missing a string?

Post by blinddrew »

garrettendi wrote: Wed Aug 03, 2022 10:11 amthe shop I bought from has a free setup,

Worth taking advantage of. :thumbup:
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 20269 Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...
Post Reply