replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by N i g e l »

:thumbup: I will do
User avatar
N i g e l
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2738 Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm Location: British Isles

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by Martin Walker »

N i g e l wrote: Mon Aug 08, 2022 10:52 pm
Martin Walker wrote: I have heard that the ASM PSUs can be a bit wimpy (non-professional technical term) at times, but unless you've had the Hydrasynth a few years already I suspect ASM (or their UK

I hadnt heard that, I couldnt find any scandal on the internet, just links back here [!] and to some bloke complaining that the PSU was external and that the keyboard was too short :)

Just to show how impeccable my Internet searches are, here's a Gearspace post dated August 2021 you might find extremely enlightening ;)

"My HYDRASYNTH had the start up issue as all the screens flickered and didn’t boot. I sent for a repair and the problem persisted after working all right for a few days.
I eventually returned the Hydra in spite of it being one of my favorite synths. It seems the error was caused by a cheap PSU they use."


Its part of a huge 177-page Hydrasynth thread here on Gearspace: https://gearspace.com/board/electronic- ... st15579565

Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 19661 Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by resistorman »

I called out the cheap PSU in my EM review. Strange that it's the one place they cut corners.
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2128 Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am Location: Asheville NC
"The Best" piece of gear is subjective.

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by Martin Walker »

resistorman wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 4:12 pm I called out the cheap PSU in my EM review. Strange that it's the one place they cut corners.

Sometimes re-badged PSUs can end up sourced from several manufacturers, or get changed during production if found to be lacking in some respect.

Given this history of previous wimpy PSUs, it may be that the power supply that ASM are now shipping has a better spec than early models (my Hydrasynth 4-octave keyboard version bought exactly a year ago in August 2021 has been fine thus far).

Because of this, I echo The Elf's suggestion that N i g e l see if he can get a free replacement from ASM , especially as the deluxe version has the same voltage but double the current capacity - that would solve the problem once and for all!
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 19661 Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by N i g e l »

Martin Walker wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 4:18 pm Because of this, I echo The Elf's suggestion that N i g e l see if he can get a free replacement from ASM , especially as the deluxe version has the same voltage but double the current capacity - that would solve the problem once and for all!

I have initiated contact with ASM.

My stats:
synth bought March 2020,
Home use only (but given 2020 & that the HS was new & awsome, it got a good share of play)
PSU is a small wall plug with the international pins being a circular twist & click arrangement.
unusual but nice as all other PSUs in my collection are linear slide 'n' click.
Apart from the LINE6 which is slide click fall off.

My only other ever failed PSU was on an MX200 where the internal fuse failed.
As it was a sealed unit that I had to dremel open, that knoweldge was useless.

UPDATE:
oh that was quick ! No dice from ASM, I have to contact the distributor.
User avatar
N i g e l
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2738 Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm Location: British Isles

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by The Elf »

N i g e l wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 6:46 pm oh that was quick ! No dice from ASM, I have to contact the distributor.

Well that's disappointing. ASM had a chance to shine in a very public way, but fluffed it. Oh well...
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18718 Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by Hugh Robjohns »

I'm not sure that's entirely fair. Distributors are appointed as the regional representative for the manufacturer. So it seems entirely fair and appropriate to send a support request to the local distributor, especially since this request involves a UK specific PSU replacement.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 35057 Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound...
(But generally posting my own personal views and not necessarily those of SOS, the company or the magazine!)
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by The Elf »

I just think it was a chance to shine. They didn't. That's an opportunity missed IMHO. The best companies understand and make the most of these opportunities, even if it means bending their protocols.

I'm just back from a Disney holiday. Now they know how to do it. If it were *my* company...
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18718 Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by Eddy Deegan »

I think you're both right. It would have been a cheap and easy win for ASM (and had I been ASM I'd have just got it sorted) but ultimately from the consumer's perspective responsibility does lie with the distributor, even if the distributor gets that back-filled by the manufacturer up the line.

Edit: I do have some experience of being a vendor and there are often subtle things about the supply line that consumers will never see or understand but, however it's delivered, customer support should always be good.

One thing ASM could take away from this if they chose to is that the quality of the PSU is as important as the quality of the synth.

Neither my original Hydrasynth or the Deluxe had anything like the same issue and it does sound as if there could have been a batch of PSUs that could have been better. As to whether that's ASM's fault or the distributor I can't say but it's a shame that either way it's the end user that has the problem.

Hopefully the distributor will be able to help.
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Moderator
Posts: 7795 Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works | The SOS Forum Album projects
 

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by The Elf »

Eddy Deegan wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 10:50 pm I think you're both right. It would have been a cheap and easy win for ASM but ultimately from the consumer's perspective responsibility does lie with the distributor, even if the distributor gets that back-filled by the manufacturer up the line.

Which could all have happened 'magically' behind the scenes...
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 18718 Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by Eddy Deegan »

The Elf wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 10:52 pm
Eddy Deegan wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 10:50 pm I think you're both right. It would have been a cheap and easy win for ASM but ultimately from the consumer's perspective responsibility does lie with the distributor, even if the distributor gets that back-filled by the manufacturer up the line.

Which could all have happened 'magically' behind the scenes...

I agree, it could have and it's a shame it didn't. But the absence of spectacular service doesn't necessarily equate to bad service either. In this case, if the distributor sorts it out (as they should) then it's 'good' service, if not world-class.
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Moderator
Posts: 7795 Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works | The SOS Forum Album projects
 

Re: replacement PSU for Hydrasynth ?

Post by N i g e l »

Hugh Robjohns wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 10:23 pm this request involves a UK specific PSU replacement.

The PSU is electrically world compatible, supplied with a variety of seamless pin adaptors eg UK, Europe.... other places.

Eddy Deegan wrote: Tue Aug 09, 2022 10:50 pm I think you're both right. It would have been a cheap and easy win for ASM but ultimately from the consumer's perspective responsibility does lie with the distributor, even if the distributor gets that back-filled by the manufacturer up the line.

Its late ! but I think the ultimate responsibility lies with the manufacturer.

Donahugh v Stevenson, "slug of gin-jah" precident - a slug at the bottom of the ginger beer.

The onus was on the manufacturer of the ginger beer not on the cafe owner who served it [distributor].

I will churn through the process & do battle but ultimately I think I will be reporting the product & specs of the £7 replacement from an independant vendor, possibly but not limited to CPC/Farineli.

Now that im out of warranty I also have thoughts about incorparting the psu inside the synth :shocked::think::think:
User avatar
N i g e l
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2738 Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm Location: British Isles
Post Reply