Duplication vs Replication

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Duplication vs Replication

Post by giddyap »

Newbie here. Sorry. Please point me to topic if already answered.
Its my understanding that replication's sole benefit was to make sure people can hear cd in car cd players.
Hasn't car audio technology caught up?
Do cars even have cd players anymore?
What do I risk by having cd's duplicated (cheaper, esp for short runs)???
giddyap
New here

Re: Duplication vs Replication

Post by Eddy Deegan »

I don't understand the question you're asking. Duplication and replication are the same thing, surely?

Is this a query about mastering such that it sounds good on a car stereo?
Eddy Deegan
Posts: 8844 Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works | The SOS Forum Album projects  

Post by resistorman »

I believe the question is the difference between "burning" discs and stamping them. Sometimes car stereos had issues with the burned ones.

No, car stereos have not caught up, they don't even make them anymore. Those in existence are probably on their last legs. For what it's worth, I never had any problems with burned discs.

Since pro replication requires buying minimum 1000 units, I'd say it's not worth it, unless you live someplace where CDs are still bought.
resistorman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2692 Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am Location: Asheville NC
"The Best" piece of gear is subjective.

Post by giddyap »

Correct, and thanks!
There are many blogs and disc manufacturer's FAQ pages explaining the difference of process. I was quite unaware of it too for many years.
I play live, and I'll tour when my old house, wife, and 5-year-old allow, and merch is always good to have...just not 1000 of them!
CD Baby used to do "download cards" which I thought were great. Someone at a gig would gig you $12 for a download of your 12 songs. Easy enough.