Cello with piano accompany in Church

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Cello with piano accompany in Church

Post by Tj001 »

Trying to record a cello audition in church, with a grand piano accompany. It is a medium size catholic church with high arc ceiling. There will be no audience so I can place mic and camera anywhere I like. As a beginner, I only have a sE8 omni pair to use, connected to ZOOM F6. Any suggestion on how to place this mic pair? Greatly appreciated.
Tj001
New here

Re: Cello with piano accompany in Church

Post by MOF »

If you want a stereo recording then use the microphones as spaced omnis and have the cellist positioned centrally in front of the piano soundboard. Hopefully they will self balance for levels.
You’ll have to experiment with how close the microphones are to the performers to balance with the amount of reverb in the room.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2264 Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 12:00 am Location: United Kingdom

Post by Tj001 »

is there a rule of thumb for the space between omni mics? I have seen AB 30. Is 30 cm enough to create a good stereo image? Will 1-2 meters be better?
For cello distance, what is the range to try? Is 1 to 2 meters a good start?
Tj001
New here

Post by MOF »

I’ve never used spaced omnis so I can’t comment, I’m just suggesting what I’ve read. I think spacing them a meter apart could give you that ‘hole in the middle’ effect and might not be very Mono compatible, I think that’s where the Decca tree comes in with the third centrally positioned microphone.
I suggested the cellist being centrally positioned but you might want the cello to be slightly left or right.
The distance from performers to microphones is something to decide on while setting up/rehearsing as it depends on the amount of reverberation in the room.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2264 Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 12:00 am Location: United Kingdom