Storing PA gear in a garage

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Moderator: Moderators

Storing PA gear in a garage

Post by SoundArfa »

Hi,
I'm a newbie here who is just starting to get a collection of gear together after the band I was in parted ways. I inherited a Behringer 2442FX USB mixer from the band kitty. Since then I've been buying various cables, stands, and DI boxes, plus a pair of Yamaha DBR tops. This is all with a view to getting something going when work settles down. Anyway, with the weather starting to get colder, I've just moved the mixer and my guitar pedalboard into the house for the winter.
Conversely, my tops and a trolley case crammed full of XLRs, instrument cables, headphone amp cables and a couple of Mackie dynamic mics are still left in the garage. The garage is not detached but we know UK winters can be damp

How many of you leave your powered speakers in an unheated out-building, year round? I'm wondering whether to get a couple of the large vacuum bags that can be used to winterise clothes or bedding.as I gather that damp is.the main issue?
SoundArfa
Poster

Re: Storing PA gear in a garage

Post by James Perrett »

At my old place I used to store gear in a garage attached to the house with no damp problems. There must have been enough heat coming through the wall from the house (and also from the boiler in a cupboard next to the garage) to keep things dry.

At my current place the garage is detached and I quickly found that I was getting damp problems in cold weather so, for now, I have a small heater in there with the thermostat set very low. Some people use a dehumidifier instead of a heater which might be more energy efficient.
James Perrett
Posts: 14381 Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Post by resistorman »

Putting gear in a sealed plastic bag could cause problems like mildew and mold.