MacBook Pro M2 Max - 64GB enough?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.
Post Reply

MacBook Pro M2 Max - 64GB enough?

Post by Dave Rowles »

My current MBP is 2017 and only has 16GB. For various accident reasons I'm thinking of upgrading. I reckon 64GB be enough. Can anyone convince me otherwise before I hit the button?

I'm mainly audio but do occasional video. I also plan on using the MBP to run live processing for audio using Live Professor.
User avatar
Dave Rowles
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1471 Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:00 am Location: Isle of Man
http://www.manninmusic.com Teacher - Isle of Man
http://www.manninmusic.shop Music Shop - Isle of Man
https://www.facebook.com/mannin.sound - PA Hire/Sound Engineer - Isle of Man

Re: MacBook Pro M2 Max - 64GB enough?

Post by sonics »

The answer is it's more than enough. :)
I think you'll find that 32GB would be ample, but if you can afford the upgrade it's a good investment.
I don't know the exact details, because you don't mention things like what's running in Live Professor, or your video requirements.
sonics
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1889 Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:00 am Location: Canada
 

Re: MacBook Pro M2 Max - 64GB enough?

Post by Nazard »

The only higher option is 96Gb RAM, 64Gb will be fine. (I run DaVinci Resolve on a PC with 64Gb RAM and given that th M series Macs, with onchip RAM are even better, then I would go for 64Gb). And I also have MBPs.
Nazard
Frequent Poster
Posts: 673 Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:00 am

Re: MacBook Pro M2 Max - 64GB enough?

Post by Bob Bickerton »

Well I have an M1 Pro MacBook with 16GB RAM and it eats anything I can throw at it!

Rendering videos in FCP it hardly even gets warm. No issues running many tracks in Logic, though I don’t use much in the way of virtual instruments.

I’d go for 32GB unless you’re heavily into virtual instruments.

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Longtime Poster
Posts: 5158 Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 12:00 am Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: MacBook Pro M2 Max - 64GB enough?

Post by Dave Rowles »

Sometimes I am, sometimes I'm not. I'm trying to think as much future proof for things I might need in the future than anything else. I know I don't really need more than 32GB right now, but as I intend to keep the machine 7/8 years before upgrading again, I like to think what I might need power wise by then....
User avatar
Dave Rowles
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1471 Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:00 am Location: Isle of Man
http://www.manninmusic.com Teacher - Isle of Man
http://www.manninmusic.shop Music Shop - Isle of Man
https://www.facebook.com/mannin.sound - PA Hire/Sound Engineer - Isle of Man
Post Reply