Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by drickner »

I'm not opposed to an analog with interface, that's why I thought about the tascam. I was really trying to get much better quality by going a few year old and getting a 'real' console. I still have the old GL3800 x 48 in the closet, but my wife is refusing to help me get it out the closet any more :crazy: so I was trying to downsize and be at 12 - 16 channels.

Maybe a soundcraft GB series would be better for me? Not being able to multi-track record isn't a huge deal breaker for me right now. Like I said earlier, I rarely do that. In fact, it's been 5 years since that has happened. Now I'm just thinking out loud.
drickner
New here
Posts: 13 Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2023 10:22 pm

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by OneWorld »

drickner wrote: Sat Mar 18, 2023 10:21 pm I'm not opposed to an analog with interface, that's why I thought about the tascam. I was really trying to get much better quality by going a few year old and getting a 'real' console. I still have the old GL3800 x 48 in the closet, but my wife is refusing to help me get it out the closet any more :crazy: so I was trying to downsize and be at 12 - 16 channels.

Maybe a soundcraft GB series would be better for me? Not being able to multi-track record isn't a huge deal breaker for me right now. Like I said earlier, I rarely do that. In fact, it's been 5 years since that has happened. Now I'm just thinking out loud.

I had the TASCAM Model 24, it had to be returned, it went wrong, I got my money back
OneWorld
Frequent Poster
Posts: 4595 Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by AlecSp »

drickner wrote: Sat Mar 18, 2023 10:21 pm I'm not opposed to an analog with interface, that's why I thought about the tascam. I was really trying to get much better quality by going a few year old and getting a 'real' console. I still have the old GL3800 x 48 in the closet, but my wife is refusing to help me get it out the closet any more :crazy: so I was trying to downsize and be at 12 - 16 channels.

While small live setups used to thrive on desks like this, they're so limiting compared with even the most basic digital mixer. While I don't know what live work you expect to do, being limited to 2 monitor outputs wouldn't cut it in most places these days. Not to mention the lack of proper dynamics/EQ/effects, etc. And then there's the analogue snake.

Nothing wrong with the old GL3800 in its day, but I bet it needs some care and attention these days. Don't forget the rack of outboard to make it usable, the massive flight case, and the two+ man lift. My little stagebox mixer is smaller and lighter than a GL3800 power supply...

We had our first "analog only" act in a few months back. It was rather tragic to see how much kit they needed, how long it took them to load-in and rig it. And then to debug problems in the snake and some of the outboard. Even though I knew ages ago, that cemented that I'm never going back to the dark side...
AlecSp
Frequent Poster
Posts: 683 Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:00 am Location: Herts, UK

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Tomás Mulcahy »

drickner wrote: Sat Mar 18, 2023 10:21 pm I still have the old GL3800 x 48 in the closet

That's the most reliable analogue desk of recentish times that I've used. There's a GL2400 still in use at work after 14 years, not even a scratchy pot. Friend of mine just bought a smaller version used, same condition. In fairness, we've just retired a PM5000 and it's still fully functional, it must be twenty years old? Whereas the 02R96 and the 01V did not age well.

Are you against the Midas M32? There's a reason it's omnipresent...
User avatar
Tomás Mulcahy
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2626 Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2001 12:00 am Location: Cork, Ireland.

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Mike Stranks »

Let's cut to the chase, OP! :)

What's your maximum budget?

I used to inhabit the 'live plus sometimes multitrack' world, so still know my way around that reasonably well...
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10503 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by drickner »

My budget is around $800 or so, 12 - 16 channels, and I don't need a road case right away. I think I would rather get something a few years old than one of the new small format consoles. I am not interested in an X32. I have had too much bad experience with that brand in the past.

I'm looking at Tascam, Soundcraft, etc. The SQ I'm used to is just too far out of my price range, and the AH Zed we had didn't last very long.

I really wish I had bought the Midas Venice I saw several years ago, but at the time I wasn't needing it for anything. lol.

FYI, I've contacted the seller of the Yamaha, and I'm trying to get it returned.
drickner
New here
Posts: 13 Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2023 10:22 pm

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Mike Stranks »

You might want to explore this:

https://www.presonus.com/products/StudioLive-16.0.2-USB

Within your budget, but maximum of 12 mic inputs...

Someone who used to inhabit this forum called it an 'analogue mixer on steroids'. :) I call it 'half-digital'...

I had one for several years for live and was well-pleased. Did away with all my outboard at a stroke. But I have no personal experience of the USB version. Mine was Firewire and proved to be somewhat glitchy on recording... I have seen no negative reports on any aspect of the USB version, but do make sure it's the USB version being reviewed/commented on if trawling for videos/reviews. (Of course, it doesn't record on SD/USB stick, but needs an external laptop or other recording platform. Don't know if that's a game-changer for you.. I'm contemplating making the same 'jump'!)
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10503 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by AlecSp »

drickner wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 8:15 pm I am not interested in an X32. I have had too much bad experience with that brand in the past.

They've proven rather more reliable than many, though...
AlecSp
Frequent Poster
Posts: 683 Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:00 am Location: Herts, UK

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Mike Stranks »

AlecSp wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 12:21 am
drickner wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 8:15 pm I am not interested in an X32. I have had too much bad experience with that brand in the past.

They've proven rather more reliable than many, though...

Just picking-up on the original comment, referenced by Alec...

Do you mean you've had personal bad experience of the X32 or of other Behringer products?

The X32 is, rightly, hugely popular and is used by all sorts of people in all sorts of situations... It has stood the course of time in terms of functionality, performance, reliability and price.

Behringer/Music Group these days is not all about cheap 'n' cheerful large format mixers which are somewhat flaky in terms of reliability. I've been there and done that... Their several digital mixers have all proved useful, reliable and cost-effective. There are many people here, who are very experienced, hard-nosed, sound-techs who use them week-in, week-out with no problems and recommend them to others.
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10503 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Tomás Mulcahy »

Seconding AlecSP’s recomendations. The tablet based software for both is very intuitive and you can try it online. Only problem is XR18 is out of stock…the Soundcraft costs more but is in stock… but you’re avoiding that brand so I guess that’s ok :) Best of luck getting the Yamaha returned.
User avatar
Tomás Mulcahy
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2626 Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2001 12:00 am Location: Cork, Ireland.

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Sam Spoons »

drickner wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 8:15 pm My budget is around $800 or so, 12 - 16 channels, and I don't need a road case right away. I think I would rather get something a few years old than one of the new small format consoles. I am not interested in an X32. I have had too much bad experience with that brand in the past.

Given your budget even a used X32 Producer is going to be out of reach :( and there is nothing else on the market that will give you that functionality and reliability for similar money.

Many of us have had 'anti-Behringer' sentiments in the past from using some of the dodgy products they have made but the X32 range is not one of those and the stats speak for themselves, when the X32 had been around a couple of years and sales were around 300,000 Thomann reported returns were the lowest of any other digital mixer they sold.

WRT what to buy given your limited budget I'd consider a used X32 Rack or a new XR18. but neither have a physical surface.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Forum Aficionado
Posts: 20021 Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am Location: Manchester UK
People often mistake me for a grown-up because of my age.

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Mike Stranks »

If it has to be digital and have a control surface then one is fishing a very small pond - even second-user!

... which is why I suggested giving the Presonus the once-over...
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10503 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by AlecSp »

Mike Stranks wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 11:03 am ... which is why I suggested giving the Presonus the once-over...

It's one of those previous generation digital mixers, which was fine in it's time, but feels very limited in today's market. At one point, I was tempted to replace my 01v96 with one of these - glad I waited a little.

No recallable pre-amp gains, 60mm non-motorised faders, only 4 aux sends for monitors, no Android remote control (other than for monitor mixes), remote control requires a USB connected PC to interface with a router. While it's hard to know what real failure rates are, they certainly didn't seem to fare as well as other devices, including X32.

As SamSpoons rightly observes, not much is in stock at the moment. And, sadly, even when it is, prices are way above what they were pre-pandemic. You would have been able to pick up an XR18, UI24, X32 Rack, or used X32 Producer within your budget. Academic, as they're not available at those prices, and you've ruled them out.

The OP has clearly used decent large analog desks in the past, and a decent SQ digital desk, but is running the gamut of old/flakey gear at the moment. Good luck in your endeavours...
AlecSp
Frequent Poster
Posts: 683 Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:00 am Location: Herts, UK

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Mike Stranks »

Alec, you seem to be overlooking what the OP has said in his earlier posts and what his budget is.

Bearing in mind his budget, his requirements and what else he's been perusing, then the Presonus is certainly worth considering. Still being produced and available new for his budget.
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10503 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by AlecSp »

Mike Stranks wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 5:39 pm Alec, you seem to be overlooking what the OP has said in his earlier posts and what his budget is.

Bearing in mind his budget, his requirements and what else he's been perusing, then the Presonus is certainly worth considering. Still being produced and available new for his budget.

Working on the basis that the OP has a budget of $800 (let's assume that's USD), Sweetwater prices show:
PreSonus StudioLive 16.0.2 USB - $1,299 - 60% over-budget
XR18 - $739 (but out of stock)
UI24R - $1,279
I was most shocked at X32 US prices - more than double what they used to be, and not a massive gap up to SQ...

So, in the OP's price range for new digital is XR18 (or less), but that's ruled out.
So, it's look out for better used kit, or budget analog.

Oh, for the halcyon days of 4 years ago, with cheap and available kit...
AlecSp
Frequent Poster
Posts: 683 Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:00 am Location: Herts, UK

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Mike Stranks »

Wow! Why so expensive in USA? :o

I normally work on a parity basis for determining what US prices will be... is that generally shot or is it just Presonus who are causing my model to break?

In the UK they seem to be advertised at the £750-ish mark... Hence, my belief that using the 'parity' model it was in budget. Obviously not! :(
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10503 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by sonics »

Mike Stranks wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 8:11 pm I normally work on a parity basis for determining what US prices will be... is that generally shot or is it just Presonus who are causing my model to break?

Parity? Way out these days. Depends on many factors. I highlighted this in the recent thread about headphones. Example was the AKG K702. On sale at Amazon UK for £79, then £99, now £125. Andertons have them at £175. US list price is $409, and they sell for $570 from dealers here in Canada. Quite a range of prices!

Another example is Roland. Very expensive here in Canada, whereas Yamaha prices are much closer to those in Europe, from the small sampling of instruments I've look at.

I'm also reminded of a couple of years ago. I could import a Behringer X32 rack for $900. Now it would cost me $2,200 to buy here.
sonics
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1873 Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:00 am Location: Canada
 

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by drickner »

Thanks for the ideas guys. I have looked at Presonus, even used one briefly years ago but I just never got the feel for the thing. While I only had the Yamaha for a few days, I found it not too bad to use and follow. It would have been just fine if it didn't have the issue it had. Shipped it back today.

With everything going on, I may be forced to wait a couple months before I get anything. Have a high school graduation about to happen and prom, so more expenses right now than I would like :).

I was able to find a used Soundcraft SI Performer 2 for the top end of my budget on Ebay. Still waiting on my refund before I do anything though.
drickner
New here
Posts: 13 Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2023 10:22 pm

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by drickner »

One thing I should probably mention is that we just moved, and I'm no longer at the big church with the SQ6. I'm not sure how much recording opportunities I will be having in the new location since most of it was people at the church. We would set up in the sanctuary and use the church mics going into a zoom hdd recorder that I still have. This was years before the SQ6 arrived.

So, technically I still can do multi with the zoom if I really have to.
drickner
New here
Posts: 13 Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2023 10:22 pm

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Mike Stranks »

Thanks for coming back drickner...

Hope you get the refund... and the Soundcraft! :)
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10503 Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by Guest »

hi
i own a 01v96 v2 with my16 at
and you should have s1-8 and s9-16 IO
maybe you have a my8 at ?
the better is to use the studio manager 01v96 dll editor
it's more easy to control the patch with it .
yamaha mixer work perfectly for me !

Spam link removed
User avatar
Guest

Re: Yamaha 01v96 v2 channels 9-16 wont turn on

Post by VTypeV4 »

Very much of the same family and generation, I have a Yamaha DM1000 which packs a great deal of punch for it's size. It's not modern and has no built in interface but does have comprehensive processing and routing, decent I/O and plenty of hands-on controls plus it will work as a DAW controller. I/O cards are plentiful on the used market (eBay is usually good) so easily adaptable for your setup. Almost certainly a step up from an 01V96 and likely within budget..

ImageDM 2 by VTypeV4, on Flickr

Mine during a live / recording session recently.
User avatar
VTypeV4
Regular
Posts: 184 Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:34 am Location: Stoke on Trent
Synkronize Music Group, part of the Sun Street Studios building in Hanley: Studio and Live Multi-Track Recording, Mastering House and bespoke Tuition Services.

www.synkronize.co.uk & www.facebook.com/synkronizemusicgroup
Post Reply