How to get rid of noise while recording the guitar?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

How to get rid of noise while recording the guitar?

Post by Yak00dza »

Hi!

I am pretty new with the music recording. I am using Reaper, and my hardware is:
Guitar -> "MXR Distortion+" pedal -> \ audiointerface -> amp sim in reaper

I am trying to record the guitar, but there is horrible noise. I tuned my pedal and volume bars to misimize it but it is still there. I tried using ReaFir plugin to remove it, and there is not any noise when the guitar is silent, but when i start playing it reapears, and there are strange sound when the guitar sound is fading out.

Is there any way to remove this noise?
Thank you!
Yak00dza
New here

Re: How to get rid of noise while recording the guitar?

Post by Stuart79 »

What sort of guitar are you using? (Does it have single coil pickups?)

What sort of noise is it? Is the noise still present when you turn off your distortion pedal?
Stuart79
Regular
Posts: 132 Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:00 am Location: Northampton, UK

Post by Wonks »

What level is the guitar being recorded at?

What is your full recording setup including desktop or laptop, monitors or headphones?

Trying to work out if you may have no solid ground, or maybe a ground loop situation. But we need full details of what the kit is and how it’s all connected.
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 17233 Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am Location: Reading, UK
Reliably fallible.

Post by Yak00dza »

Ok, i am here again with a bunch of additional info.

I am using the guitar with SSH pickups scheme. I play it using the humbucker one.
The guitar is at max possible volume.

I use laptop "ASUS TUF Gaming FX506HCB" and audiointerface Behringer UM2. The guitar is plugged in the INST 2 slot.

I tested my headphons and understood that strange sound while fade out process is made by them, not by guitar.