Power outage : Logic Auto Saved

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Power outage : Logic Auto Saved

Post by tea for two »

We had a power outage on the whole block of flats late last night.
I don't have a UPS. I would if I was a professional delivering a commercial project.

Was working on a basic 14track music piece in Logic.
Power returned sometime this morning.
Just a few minutes earlier turned on imac2017.
First thing after logging in, Logic opens with Auto Saved dialogue box.
Music piece as it was when power outage occured.

Hurrah for Auto Saved.
tea for two
Frequent Poster

Re: Power outage : Logic Auto Saved

Post by ConcertinaChap »

Very nice. I'd still spring for a UPS if you can. I had a computer once that suffered quite bad disk corruption due to a power outage. Took a lot of effort to get it working again and it was always a bit flaky afterwards. Admittedly it was a Windows machine but nevertheless ...

CC
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13303 Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am Location: Bradford on Avon
Mr Punch's Studio
An inspirational quote is like a parachute.
It can really get you down.

Post by IAA »

It’s a good feature for sure. I have over the years developed a habit of cmd S - so after any edit or change I find have added the save without thinking.

Agree UPS can be a lifesaver too, but I don’t use one although I have pondered it.

Might have another look but I have quite a lot of external storage too which would need a supply too not just the Mac.

Ian
IAA
Frequent Poster

Post by Rich Hanson »

Journalled file systems help an awful lot in this regard. In the past, I have seen people recommend turning off journalling for performance reasons. Don't do this! Especially in this age of fast SSDs, it's not going to make a noticeable difference (and I'm not convinced it made much of a difference on spinning rust either).
Rich Hanson
Frequent Poster